Wir verwenden Cookies, um Inhalte und Anzeigen zu personalisieren sowie erweiterte Funktionen anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Außerdem geben wir Informationen zu Ihrer Verwendung unserer Website an unsere Partner für Analysen weiter. Unsere Partner führen diese Informationen möglicherweise mit weiteren Daten zusammen, die Sie ihnen bereitgestellt haben oder die sie im Rahmen Ihrer Nutzung der Dienste gesammelt haben.

Tüschenbroich Oil Mill
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
 
in Tüschenbroich

There has been an oil mill in Tüschenbroich since the 12th century. In 1624, during the Thirty Years' War, Tüschenbroich castle and the mills belonging to it were taken over by Baron von Spiering. The oil mill is powered by water from the small pond in front of it, which in turn is fed by the numerous brooks in and around Tüschenbroich.

The farmers in the areawere forced to bring their products to the oil or grain mill, hence it is also known locally as the Bannmühle, the thirl mill.

This rule, the so-called thirlage, was not abolished until the arrival of the French.

The mill was equipped with an undershot water wheel. For the oil millers, the heyday of flax cultivation was a golden era. The oil mill stopped operating in 1912 due to the decline in flax cultivation. The water wheel, destroyed during the war, has been restored, and the mill's roof was re-thatched in July 1999. The mill has now been owned by the same family for over a century. Tüschenbroich castle, including its two mills and the Ulrichskapelle chapel, is a popular destination for outings, just like it was over 100 years ago, and will continue to be.

Opening times: By appointment only

Adress: Zur Ulrichskapelle 5, 41844 Wegberg- Tüschenbroich, Phone: (+49) (0)2434-8094048