Wir verwenden Cookies, um Inhalte und Anzeigen zu personalisieren sowie erweiterte Funktionen anbieten zu können und die Zugriffe auf unsere Website zu analysieren. Außerdem geben wir Informationen zu Ihrer Verwendung unserer Website an unsere Partner für Analysen weiter. Unsere Partner führen diese Informationen möglicherweise mit weiteren Daten zusammen, die Sie ihnen bereitgestellt haben oder die sie im Rahmen Ihrer Nutzung der Dienste gesammelt haben.

Tüschenbroich Grain Mill
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
 
in Tüschenbroich

Although both mills belonged to Tüschenbroich castle, they were still operated by different millers. As in the oil mill, the local farmers were subject to the law of thirlage, meaning they were forced to have their grain milled here. This mill is one of the few mills with an overshot water wheel. It is the first mill along the Schwalm river down from its source. The Schwalm and several smaller brooks feed the pond in front of the mill. In the old days, one set of stones could grind around five hours a day, although there are actually two sets.

Tüschenbroich recognised the sign of the times and the coming changes early on by supplementing the mill's income with an inn. On 29 December 1862, Mr Wilhelm Gellissen was granted a royal licence for the operation of a tavern. This licence was then given to Johann Hermann Königs in 1862. The grain mill stopped milling in 1940. Tüschenbroich castle and the two mills have survived some difficult times and are still a popular destination for outings.

Opening times: Tuesday to Sunday from 10:00 to 22:00 clock

Adress: Gerderhahner Straße 1, 41844 Wegberg- Tüschenbroich, Phone: (+49) (0)2434-4280